Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How To We Help Our Children To Avoid Our Painful Past

farrview
    Visitor

Default How To We Help Our Children To Avoid Our Painful Past

Hi
    I have been on THP for a few weeks and am finally in charge of my body. First time ever. I am so a convert it makes so much sense. When asked I say I am on a whole food eating plan and only go on to explain the three rules to those who really do want to know. Saves me the lectures on ' are you on one of thosessilly fad diets?" Been there, done that
    I am an early childhood teacher. I am just finishing our long Christmas break and go back to a new group of four year olds. I have the dual role of encouraging parents to pack healthy lunches and encouraging their children to eat it. I also have the responsibility of expanding the children's understanding of healthy eating.
    I have found that many many young parents fall into the trap of thinking if it says 'fruit' on the label it must be good for them. So my little people come along with lunch boxes full of high sugar yoghurts and fruit strings, blocks, bars etc. Of course they all cost more than NYL and some berries! The Health Curriculum is predictably food pyramid based with lots of carbs at the wide end. I have realised I have a dilemma.
    Maybe this could be an area for Zoe to expand and investigate. The young parents want to feed their children well but have such conflicting messages, the fruit issue being just one. Has anyone else addressed this with their own young children on a family level?
    My children have grown and flown, blessedly with no weight issues but undoubtedly the usual mish mash of government issued health misinformation as I understood it.

While I think the approach in phase 3 of THD is doable for kids there are lots of examples of healthy packed lunches and foods for kids at
    http://nomnompaleo.com Nom Nom Paleo's blog that would encourage healthy attitudes to trying different foods.