Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Natamycin antibiotic used in some cheeses as a preservative

  1. #1

    Default Natamycin antibiotic used in some cheeses as a preservative

    Hi just want to flag this to you guys as, first because I was surprised that this is a thing, and second I believe I had a severe allergic reaction to it.

    The cheese I ate was from Waitrose, & was a mix of cow, ewe & goats milk, all of which I've eaten before without any problems. Unfortunately I ate the cheese rind, that's marked as not suitable for vegetarians because it contains natamycin - which I assumed was just another form of gelatin.

    Natamycin is in fact an antibiotic. It is used as a preservative typically in cheese rinds. It has apparently been banned by a company called Whole Foods, reason not stated; but I can't find anything else about confirmed allergic reactions.

    I am allergic to penicillin - but as far as I can figure natamycin is unrelated to penicillin.


  2. #2


    Yikes!! - That is pretty scary!
    The worst bigots in the world are those who most loudly proclaim their ‘tolerance’

  3. #3


    Apparently “ is an effective natural food preservative for preventing yeast and mold growth. For nearly 50 years it has been safely used around the world to protect a wide variety of foods and beverages from spoilage, including dairy products, cured meats, baked goods and fruit juice”

  4. #4
    Club Member grumbleweed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    a city in the West Country


    This might be of interest.
    I must admit, I've never seen it listed as an ingredient.
    Dear Stomach,you are bored,not hungry. So shut up.

  5. #5
    Super Member roseymary's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Melbourne Australia


    Interesting - I am not aware of having seen that as an ingredient, wonder if it's lurking behind an number.
    One is too many a thousand not enough.

  6. #6


    Quote Originally Posted by grumbleweed View Post
    This might be of interest.
    I must admit, I've never seen it listed as an ingredient.
    Thanks GW that was interesting.

    Diane789, thank you for the heads up. You must have had a very scary experience. I hope you are fully recovered now.
    Gilli - DLTBGYD but more importantly KCHO

  7. #7

  8. #8
    Club Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    South Norfolk


    I occasionally eat the rind off cheese or put it into soup e.g. cauliflower

  9. #9


    Yes I'm fine thanks :-)

  10. #10


    Thanks, Soupee - you found its E name, and supplied a link.

    I've learned a lesson.. don't be lazy!!!
    If you don't know what an ingredient is, either
    - look it up, see if it's ok,
    - or better, don't buy the product



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO